June 9, 2025
It is not often that Stora Harrie Church is open,
it is important to take the opportunity to visit the church and the runestone
which is built into an inner wall. It is open as a roadside church
for a few days this summer. There are relatives' graves in the cemetery
which we visit and lay a flower. In the armory
the churchwardens sit and receive all visitors, so far only us.
There was someone here last weekend. In any case, there will be a cup of coffee and
a chat before we walk around the church. The runestone is built into the south wall
under the organ stand.
The church is originally from around 1200. The church was restored in the mid-19th century,
not much remains of the medieval church.
During that restoration, the runestone was found.
In the armory there are remains of medieval frescoes,
including Jesus being taken down from the cross.
A triumphal crucifix from the 15th century.
The pulpit is from the renovation in 1851.
A wooden coat of arms of Charles XII is from 1701.
The baptismal font is modern from 1995 in Ă–land limestone.
Altarpiece from 1938.
So there is not much of the medieval church.
Stora Harriestenen
Map
GPS: WGS84 decimal (longitud, latitud) 55.80485,13.15390